Favorite Books of 2015

Favorite-Books

 

With 2015 wrapping itself to a close, I decided to take a look back at the books I’ve read over the course of this year.

I spent quite a bit of 2015 expanding my knowledge through different genres, rather than reading exclusively Historical Fiction. That’s not to say that I didn’t read any books out of my favorite genre, though. I did read quite a few, and it shows in my list of favorites. It’s been a wonderful year. So, these are my top five favorite books read in 2015 (not organized in any particular order).

 

50398

#1 Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

This book is my favorite Jane Austen novel. For some reason, I have a special spot for parodies in my little bookish heart. This story was actually rather exciting. It made me laugh, and Mr. Tilney’s sarcasm and lively personality made him one of my favorite literary guys. Yeah. It was absolutely lovely.

17383917

#2 The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

Can you say “perspective change”? because that’s what this book did for me. Lewis’ ability to understand sinful men is remarkable. And the fact that the story is told from the viewpoint of a demon adds a strange little twist to the mix. So yes, five stars, and I highly recommend it.

136116

#3 The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy

In all honesty, I can’t even explain my love for this book. All you need to know is that its amazing, and you should go read it. Like, right now would be preferable. 🙂

95460501

#4 Joyfully at Home by Jasmine Baucham

As much as I dislike admitting this, the books that have impacted me the most this year have actually been non-fiction. I’m more of a storytelling, thoughtfully analytic type of girl, and Joyfully at Home was definitely not a book you needed to sit down and analyze (in the same sense that you would a novel). It was fresh and encouraging, reminding me of what is really important in life: glorifying God and enjoying him forever.

This book was terribly convicting, but somehow Jasmine has a way of making you laugh at your failings rather than bawl over them. And I don’t mean that in any bad way. I would definitely encourage any young lady to find a copy of this book because, really, it’s worth every penny.

937020

#5 A Lantern in Her Hand by Bess Streeter Aldrich

I cried for forty-five minutes straight during this book. I, who am considered to be the level-headed one of my family, broke down crying. Really. It was that good. I can’t trust myself to say anything else without dropping all kinds of spoilers, so I’m going to leave it at that. Haha.

This year wasn’t anything spectacular in the sense that I only read thirty-something books. However, I’m blessed to be able to say that I’ve learned and grown more than ever before. So here’s to the hope that 2016 will keep on with that pattern and prove to be more satisfying than any year preceding it.

What are some of your favorite books that you read in 2015? I’d love to know! 

Name

3 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2015

Leave a comment